No Fooling!

Humza Yousaf’s Government—March 29th 2023

10 Cabinet Secretaries + 18 Ministers

(In 2007, the first SNP Government appointed a total of 16)

  • Shona Robison the new Deputy First Minister, will take on the Finance portfolio (from Kate Forbes), with responsibility for Local Government and the Scottish Budget
  • Minister for Community Wealth and Public Finance Tom Arthur
  • Minister for Local Government Empowerment and Planning Joe FitzPatrick
  • Michael Matheson becomes the Cabinet Secretary for NHS Recovery, Health and Social Care
  • Minister for Public Health and Women’s Health Jenni Minto
    • Minister for Social Care, Mental Wellbeing and Sport Maree Todd
  • Jenny Gilruth joins Cabinet for the first time as Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills (was Transport Minister)
  • Minister for Children, Young People & Keeping the Promise Natalie Don
    • Minister for Higher & Further Education; and for Veterans Graeme Dey
  • Màiri McAllan joins Cabinet for the first time as Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero and Just Transition
    • Minister for Transport Kevin Stewart
  • Neil Gray joins Cabinet for the first time as Cabinet Secretary for Wellbeing Economy, Fair Work and Energy (replaces Ivan McKee)
  • Minister for Small Business, Innovation and Trade Richard Lochhead
  • Minister for Energy Gillian MartinMinister for Green Skills, Circular Economy and Biodiversity (to work alongside Cab. Sec. for Net Zero and Just Transition) Lorna Slater
    • Minister for Zero Carbon Buildings, Active Travel and Tenants’ Rights (to work alongside Cab. Sec. for Social Justice) Patrick Harvie
  • Mairi Gougeon remains Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs, Land Reform and Islands (this is the brief Kate Forbes turned down)
  • Angus Robertson remains Cabinet Secretary for Constitution, External Affairs and Culture
    • Minister for Culture, Europe & International Devmt. Christina McKelvie
  • Shirley-Anne Somerville moves from Education to become Cabinet Secretary for Social Justice
  • Minister for Equalities, Migration and Refugees Emma Roddick
    • Mnister for Housing Paul McLennan
  • Angela Constance returns to Cabinet as Cabinet Secretary for Justice and Home Affairs (replaces Keith Brown)
    • Minister for Victims and Community Safety Siobhian Brown
  • Reporting directly to First Minister Humza Yousaf
    • Minister for Drugs and Alcohol Policy Elena Whitham
    • Minister for Independence Jamie Hepburn
    • Minister for Cabinet and Parliamentary Business George Adam

Kate Forbes (formerly Finance), Keith Brown (formerly Justice) & Ivan McKee (formerly Economy & Business) move to the back benches to join Nicola Sturgeon and John Swinney.

#1063—393 words

About davidsberry

Local ex-councillor, tour guide and database designer. Keen on wildlife, history, boats and music. Retired in 2017.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s